NO SHIT Not All Men, Asshat

male tears

After witnessing another round of ‪#‎NotAllMen‬ bingo on a friend’s random post in which women were commiserating about a common, relatively mild annoyance they have to deal with in every day life (I stayed out of this one, for I was weary), I notice 2 things.

First, the type of men who feel the need to jump into a post that has NOTHING to do with them and basically tell women, no, that is not what you personally experience in your own life, because I myself have not done it, are, without fail, massive turds. If you are not guilty of the behavior in question, then no one is talking about you! So if you are not on the giving or the receiving end of bad behavior, what is this need to interject yourself to sing the whiny NOT ALL MEN song? What is this need to inform women of THEIR OWN EXPERIENCES? If you see a post about cat-calling, harassment, or simply boorish behavior, and you are not guilty of those things- go get yourself a cookie and feel good about yourself. Maybe throw in a “like” of support for your female comrades and move on. DON’T jump in like a toddler and demand that someone give you one. No one owes you a reward or recognition just because you refrain from bad behavior. That is what you are SUPPOSED TO DO.

Second, when someone does this, without fail they will hijack the entire post until either they get some sense of recognition and/or agreement (which they feel they are entitled to), or until the people explaining to him in excruciating detail why he is out of line simply get exhausted and give up. Either way, he wins. Instead of women commiserating and supporting each other, they are now paying attention to him. He wants his feelings acknowledged and he won’t sit his ass down until he gets it. This is the most hilarious way to reinforce the EXACT culture of misogyny that was being discussed in the first place, and if I had a dime for every time I’ve seen it I’d live in a damn castle.

About destielruinedmylife

Bios written in the third person weird me out. You are writing your own bio and we all know it. I am a single female person living in Southern California. I've traveled a whole lot. I am overly invested in more fictional characters than any grown-ass adult should be. I've wanted to marry Raistlin Majere ever since I was 12 and if you know who that is, it should tell you everything you need to know about my romantic choices as well as the depth of my nerdiness. I love being an Aunt. Tacos are the best food. I love rap music. I am still mad about Firefly being cancelled. I've run out of things to say. Bring me tacos.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

